turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Moving from a state without a personal income tax to a state with a personal income tax

I have kind of an odd question that has been difficult to find an answer on my own. I am potentially moving from the state of Washington (no personal income tax) to California (has a personal income tax). I am a 4th year graduate student at a university in the state of Washington and have established residency for in-state tuition purposes. Lastly, for my employment I am teaching courses for the University remotely from California.

As the state of Washington does not have a personal income tax (i.e., no potential for me to get double taxed from both states), my question is if the university sends me a W2 at the end of the year referencing a Washington address for myself, can I, on my own, file my taxes as a resident of California, effectively paying the CA income tax? Or do I need to notify my employer to fix the state on my W2, and then file my taxes with the corrected W2?

Thank you!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
rjs
Level 15
Level 15

Moving from a state without a personal income tax to a state with a personal income tax

The address on your W-2 is just a mailing address. It has nothing to do with where you worked.

If your employer is withholding California tax, your W-2 will have CA in box 15, your CA wages in box 16, and the amount of CA tax that was withheld in box 17. That's all you need on your W-2.