Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

tubotaxdz
Returning Member

IL part-year resident - what should I used for IL based income taxed by NY?

I'm pretty new to filing taxes, so apologies in advance for my lack of knowledge around this process.

I work for an IL based company and originally lived in IL from the beginning of the year until 7/1/21, where I moved to NYC. I continued working for the IL company after moving, and had both IL, NY, and NYC withholdings. The IL withholdings show up as normal in box 16 and 17 of my W-2, and I received a second W-2 reflecting the NY and NYC withholdings (boxes 16-17 for state, and 18-19 for NYC/locality taxes).

I'm in the process of completing my state return for IL and I've gotten to the step "Illinois base income taxed by New York" where it asks me to enter in the income and tax paid to another state. There are two fields - one labeled "Income taxed by New York" and "Tax paid to New York", as well as a check box for "City, County, or Locality taxes?". I'm confused about how I should enter in my NY taxes here since both the state vs local wage amounts in my NY W-2 differ (box 16 matches my full IL income, whereas box 18 seems to be a little over half of the amount reported in box 16). If I enter in the amounts as two separate entries, the table adds both income values and creates an incorrect total income. Should I create a single entry and fill out the income field with my full IL wages and the taxes paid field with the sum of the state and local taxes together?

Thanks in advance for any clarity around this, I have been googling and reading through the schedule CR instructions for a few days and am still stumped!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?