Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

nirajgtm

I am a resident of NY. I was in Michigan for work in (Oct, Nov, Dec) 2018. Didnt change address. My W2 has my NY address, should i file my tax for Michigan state as well?

Hi, For my job i went to michigan, since my client is in Michigan and lived with a friend without changing address for Oct, Nov and Dec. My W-2 has my employer's address (which is in NJ) and my resident address (which is NY). Should i mention that i made income out of state and pay michigan state taxe?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DanielV01
Expert Alumni

I am a resident of NY. I was in Michigan for work in (Oct, Nov, Dec) 2018. Didnt change address. My W2 has my NY address, should i file my tax for Michigan state as well?

Yes.  You will file a Michigan nonresident return for the income you earned in Michigan.  However, if your main work is in NJ, you will need to subtract the Michigan income out of what might be reported to New Jersey.  Both New Jersey and Michigan cannot tax you at the same time on this income.  New York can and does tax all of your income.  If you work in NJ, prepare the returns in this order:

1. Figure out the MI income, and report that amount to Michigan on a MI nonresident return (since it is not marked on the W2, you will have to allocate or apportion, or manually enter the income as Michigan wages).
  2. Prepare the NJ nonresident return, but override an income screen to subtract the Michigan income out of the NJ return.