turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a resident of New York but worked out of state all year, does NY tax me on that income?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
ToddL

I am a resident of New York but worked out of state all year, does NY tax me on that income?

Yes, NY taxes its residents' income no matter where they earn it.  

They will, however, give you credit (against your NY tax) for any tax you pay to another state on the same income. You will have to prepare the non-resident state return first (if any) to see how much tax you have to pay there.

The computation of your New York State (and New York City and Yonkers) income tax is based on information you reported on your federal income tax return, including your income and federal adjustments to income. If you did not file a federal return, you must report the same income and adjustments that you would have reported for federal income tax purposes if you had filed a federal return. There are no adjustments for income earned elsewhere, but there is a credit for taxes paid to other jurisdictions. 

View solution in original post

20 Replies
ToddL

Yes, NY taxes its residents' income no matter where they earn it.  

They will, however, give you credit (against your NY tax) for any tax you pay to another state on the same income. You will have to prepare the non-resident state return first (if any) to see how much tax you have to pay there.