Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a resident in Minnesota but worked for a company in California would my income from them have been taxed by CA and MN or just CA.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
GeoffreyG

I am a resident in Minnesota but worked for a company in California would my income from them have been taxed by CA and MN or just CA.

If we understand you correctly, you are a Minnesota resident, living and working in Minnesota, for a company with headquarters in California, correct?

If that is so, then it actually doesn't matter where your employer may be based.  It could be California, New York, or even Tokyo Japan.  As an individual, you don't have to file a tax return or pay taxes in your employer's home state (or country), or in the state where they may happen to have a payroll office (hence the address on your W-2).

Really, all you need to do is report and pay taxes on what you earn from your employment in the state(s) where you actually live and where you work.  In your case this will just be Minnesota.  A California return is not required.  Don't be concerned, for income tax filing purposes, what the employer's address on your W-2 indicates.