turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a Delaware resident n my employer is in PA. my employer is withholding taxes for Delaware and PA. Any help on this how I can avoid getting double state taxed?

Hi All, I am a Delaware resident and my employer is in PA. I received my first pay and to my surprise my employer is withholding taxes for Delaware and PA. I am confused to why double withholdings for states since I am resident of Delaware. Any help on this how I can avoid getting double taxed?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

I am a Delaware resident n my employer is in PA. my employer is withholding taxes for Delaware and PA. Any help on this how I can avoid getting double state taxed?

Unfortunately, you are subject to taxation in both states

While Pennsylvania does have tax reciprocity agreements with several states, Delaware does not participate in any of these agreements. Delaware taxes residents on the income they earn in Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania taxes non-residents on the income they earn in the state.

So you are not taxed twice, you are allowed a credit for the taxes paid to Pennsylvania. The net effect is that your overall state tax rate will be at the higher rate between the two states. 

When you prepare your tax returns, you will need to prepare your PA return before you prepare your DE return

For more information, follow these links:

Delaware on Out of State Income

PA Who Must File 

View solution in original post

4 Replies

Unfortunately, you are subject to taxation in both states