Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Guidance Needed on State Tax Obligations for Remote Work - Work for NC Org and Live in Louisiana

Hi TurboTax Community Support,

I am a full-time resident of Louisiana and am employed remotely by a company based in North Carolina. Since starting this job in 2022, I have been having Louisiana state taxes deducted from my paychecks, based on my understanding that taxes should be paid to the state of residence, not the employer's location. However, I am now unsure if this was correct.

I am concerned that I may have needed to file tax returns and pay taxes in North Carolina for the year 2022, and that I should consider doing the same for 2023. I'm uncertain about the correct procedure.

Additionally, I came across information on a "digital nomad tax exemption" in Louisiana (Title 61 REVENUE AND TAXATION Part I. Taxes Collected and Administered by the Secretary of Revenue Chapter 13. Income: Individual §1357. Income Exemption for Digital Nomads), which might impact my tax obligations.

Could you please provide guidance on whether I need to file and pay taxes in North Carolina, how to handle my Louisiana taxes considering the digital nomad exemption, and how to avoid potential double taxation? I want to ensure compliance and correct tax payment to the appropriate state(s).

Thank you for your assistance.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies

Guidance Needed on State Tax Obligations for Remote Work - Work for NC Org and Live in Louisiana

@awburrell 

NC only taxes the income you earned while you-yourself were physically in NC