Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

California domicile, florida resident, working as a florida remote employee

I have a complicated situation I was hoping to get assistance with.

I am a married California resident. My spouse also lives and works in California. We also own our home in California.

I recently accepted a position in Florida (the company does not currently offer employment in California) for remote employment(W2). I gave a florida address (I do not own this property) which I intend to live seldomly  throughout the year. My company does not restrict remote work from any location(us only) as long as the residence is established in Florida.

I understand my employer will tax me as a florida resident, however I do still want to pay my California state taxes on all income earned to avoid any tax complications. I assume since I do plan on paying California state taxes I should be okay?

How should I go about paying my California Taxes throughout the year?

Are there any risks? 

Does this affect the employer? 

Since Florida has no state taxes it should not increase my tax obligations compared to if I lived in California and worked for a California based company, right? 

What am I missing? 

Thanks

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
BillM223
Expert Alumni

"the residence is established in Florida." - what does the company mean by this? Tax Residence? Domicile? Physical Residence?

As you know, Florida has no state individual income tax. So why would the company want you to establish residence there, unless they don't mean for tax purposes, but perhaps something else.