Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Can I claim an exemption from withholding? It's my first time filing taxes ever.

Hello! I just got my first job after graduating college and my employer is having me fill out my W-4 form. I was wondering if I could claim an exemption from withholding for 2015. The two conditions on the Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate form that I have to meet to claim the exemption are: 

1) Last year I had a right to a refund of all federal income tax withheld because I had no tax liability, and 
2) This year I expect a refund of all federal income tax withheld because I expect to have no tax liability. 

If I meet both conditions, I can write "Exempt" in box #7. Can I do this? Because I've never filed taxes before, I technically had no tax liability last year. Thank you for your time!"
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

9 Replies
Carl
Level 15

Can I claim an exemption from withholding? It's my first time filing taxes ever.

Just because you had no tax liability last year, is absolutely no guarantee whatsoever that you won't have a tax liability this year. If your taxable income will be more than $6200 for 2015, you will most likely have a tax liability and if not, will have to file a tax return to prove that you don't if you have more than $6200 of taxable income.

Understand that claiming exempt on the W-4 does not in any way preclude your legal requirement to file a tax return. If you end up owing tax and none has been withheld, the fines and penalties can financially devastate you.

Thank you! That was very helpful! Does this still apply if I start work on December 1, 2015 and will be making about $5,000 for 2015?
Critter1