turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

nina5boys

As a single teacher i thought i should get more federal back in live in ohio

im taxed at single 0 dependents..have a little bit of student loans to deduct but nothing else...only make around $35000..thought i would get some kind of tax break?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies

Not sure what tax break you think is missing.  We cannot see your return or see how much of a refund you are receiving.  

Some people are saying “Nothing has changed from last year.”  That is not true.  There are major tax law changes that have begun with this tax year.  Personal exemptions of over $4000 per person were removed.

One thing that may be affecting your refund for 2018 is that employers began withholding less tax when the new tax law passed.  Your paychecks were more, but that means a smaller refund now.