Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

davesieminski
Returning Member

Allocate New York State adjustments

I was a resident of New York City for the last three months of 2021. When preparing the NY state return (after preparing the federal) I came to an entry that said "Because your residence changed during 2021 you must allocate your New York State adjustments of -$64,122 based on the time you spent as a resident of New York City or Yonkers (I am not a Yonkers resident).  Below that statement are four empty "Description" boxes and then corresponding amount boxes adjacent to each.  It also says that "Your New York State adjustments must equal  -$64,122. " Question 1:  Where did the amount -64,122 come from? I don't know how to describe or how much to allocate to each item unless I know the source and I cannot find that amount or any accumulation items that equal that amount on any forms. Question 2; Is the amount shown somehow generated in software because I previously filled in the date I moved to NY? Please advise how to fill this out.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

50 Replies
LenaH
Employee Tax Expert

If you are experiencing this with your NYC return, it would be helpful to have a TurboTax ".tax2021" file that is experiencing this issue in order to address your questions. 

You can send us a “diagnostic” file that has your “numbers” but not your personal information. If you would like to do this, here are the instructions: Go to the black panel on the left side of your program and select Tax Tools. 

1. Then select Tools below Tax Tools. 
  2. A window will pop up which says Tools Center.  
  3. On this screen, select Share my file with Agent.