Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am retired but my company pays my retirement per a 1099-Misc. How do I avoid looking like I am still employed?

I was an independent contractor for an insurance company and I have been retired for 15 years.  My retirement income is part of my contract but is given me as "miscellaneous income".  In the past, I have been able to go into forms and change something to show that this income is NOT related to any business.  It is RETIREMENT INCOME.  I am using Turbo Tax Premier as I do rent out a time-share every year.  Is this the wrong product for me?  I saw that conclusion in looking through the community search.

Every year this is an issue for me.  I should have printed out the form that I had corrected to show that this is NOT income from any job . . . it is retirement income.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
TomD8
Level 15

I am retired but my company pays my retirement per a 1099-Misc. How do I avoid looking like I am still employed?

Enter it this way:

Federal Taxes > Wages & Income > Other Common Income > Income from Form1099-MISC > Update 

Edit > Continue (if all your information is there and the income is in box 3)

Type description, if necessary

Continue > Check None apply

No it did not involve work

Select got it in 2017 

No it didn't involve an intent to earn money

Finish

**Answers are correct to the best of my ability but do not constitute tax or legal advice.

View solution in original post

7 Replies
AnthonyJ

Which box on the 1099-MISC shows the amount paid?