turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

I am a day trader. How, exactly, do I report my investment income ($50,000 in losses, actually) into TurboTax, so that I can capitalize on the full range of deductions?

my securities gains are not a loss.  i have 10k of gains and 3k of expenses.  i would like to pay tax on 7k.  but if i record the gains on schedule D and the expenses on schedule C, i end up paying taxes on 10k of gains since the 3k of losses do not get applied against the gains.  that is my issue.
bwa
Alumni
Alumni

I am a day trader. How, exactly, do I report my investment income ($50,000 in losses, actually) into TurboTax, so that I can capitalize on the full range of deductions?

Try printing the return - if the expenses from the Schedule C show up as a loss on page 1, you are getting their benefit.

I am having the same issue.  I know what needs to be done.  I need to fill out schedule D then on line 17 subtract (or add if loss) the amount that I earned to zero out Schedule D.  Then move the zero'd out number to Schedule C so I can write off the expenses.  TurboTax online does not let you do this as you cannot access forms mode.  Forms mode is available on the CD.  So you can manipulate it there.  Then the issue becomes that Day traders do not pay Self Employment tax.  How do I deduct that from the Schedule C?  Help?

i found that article as well suggesting that technique but i dont think it's actually correct.  i think if you did not make MTM election then profits or losses must go on schedule D.  as per IRS.....

The Mark-to-Market Election