Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a resident of Canada and am receiving US social security benefits. How do I avoid double taxation, since I am paying on both US and Canadian returns in TurboTax.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies

I am a resident of Canada and am receiving US social security benefits. How do I avoid double taxation, since I am paying on both US and Canadian returns in TurboTax.

See IRS Publication 597 Information on the United States–Canada Income Tax Treaty page 3 - https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p597.pdf#page=3

U.S. social security benefits paid to a resident of Canada are taxed in Canada as if they were benefits under the Canada Pension Plan, except that 15% of the amount of the benefit is exempt from Canadian tax.

You would not include your US Social Security benefits on a US federal tax return when those benefits are being reported on the Canadian tax return.

I am a Canadian and live in Canada and receive a US pension from a hospital I worked at in the US and Social Security. Should  I be leaving these of my  US federal tax return when those benefits are being reported on the Canadian tax return?

JohnB5677
Expert Alumni

• If you receive a pension from the United States, you must include it in your Canadian tax return.
  • Due to the tax treaty between the two countries, you can deduct any U.S. taxes paid on your pension, as well as 15 percent of any U.S. Social Security benefits.