Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Ask the Experts All About the Refund! >> Event happening NOW!!!!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Roth IRA Conversion

In the 2018 tax year, I was a full time student working part time.  During the year I earned about $

10k leaving me below the personal deduction for the year meaning no tax liability and a full refund of all my federal taxes paid. Further, I made the max contribution (5500$)  to a traditional IRA not knowing about the ROTH option. 

In the 2019 tax year, I converted my IRA to a ROTH and received my 1099-R for the distribution.

I was unable to deduct the traditional IRA contribution because I had no tax liability in 2018. Should I have filed a Form 8606 in 2018 ?  Do I need a 8606 to prove my cost basis on the conversion in 2019?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies
ColeenD3
Expert Alumni

Roth IRA Conversion

You can always amend 2018 to include the 8606, just to be on the safe side. Below are the steps for the entry of a "Backdoor Roth" as per Forrest.

The process is the same on the Desktop version of TurboTax ... just stay in the Step-By-Step mode and don't use the Forms mode.

Doing a "backdoor Roth" in TurboTax is a 2-step process.

First, go to Federal Taxes > Deductions & Credits > I'll Choose What to Work On > Retirement and Investments > Traditional and Roth IRA Contributions. Enter the contribution to the Traditional IRA (TIRA) that you made. Depending on your income and if you have a retirement plan at work, TurboTax will either tell you that your contribution is not deductible or it will ask you "Do you want to make your IRA contributions nondeductible?"