turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

NYS Retirement

I was under the assumption that my NYS retirement is not NYS taxable yet it is not being deducted from the amount taxed by NY. Am I missing something? This is my first year filing my retirement. 

Thank you

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
ThomasM125
Expert Alumni

NYS Retirement

Your NYS retirement pension benefits are not taxable if you are 65 years old or older. When you enter your W-2 form in TurboTax, you need to indicate that you have New York government pension. You will see this form and must choose one of the options:

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

NYS Retirement

TurboTax is having issues with the New York State retirement exclusion. They have issued the following statement. "New York customers are currently experiencing an issue in TurboTax causing their New York pension exclusions to be incorrectly calculated. We expect this issue to be resolved by 02/19/21."

View solution in original post

24 Replies
ThomasM125
Expert Alumni

NYS Retirement

Your NYS retirement pension benefits are not taxable if you are 65 years old or older. When you enter your W-2 form in TurboTax, you need to indicate that you have New York government pension. You will see this form and must choose one of the options:

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

NYS Retirement