turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

american887
Returning Member

Are Royalties Earned Income for Roth IRA Contributions?

Hi, I'd like to contribute the maximum of $6,000 to my Roth IRA for the year 2020 before the April 15th deadline. However, I want to make sure I have enough earned income, as I'm not an expert but I know you can only contribute earned income to it. By making and uploading YouTube videos I made well over the $6,000 threshold in 2020, even after subtracting business deductions and the deduction for 1/2 of the self employment tax. I don't have any deductions for contributions to other retirement plans. Some of the income was from videos from prior years that continued to accumulate ad-revenue, however I was still actively uploading as well.

However, YouTube recently reclassified the earnings as "Royalties". I received a 1099-NEC for the income and it was listed under box 1 as "Nonemployee Compensation". Does it still count as earned income? And should I still pay self-employment taxes on it?  I made YouTube videos actively in 2020 so I think they should be taxed as self-employment income and count as earned income for the Roth IRA, but I'm not 100% sure. Can I contribute the max to the Roth IRA for 2020?

Also, when calculating earned income, it is pre-tax, correct? Aside from the deduction for 1/2 of the self employment income.

Thanks!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

12 Replies
DavidD66
Employee Tax Expert