Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Peggymom

1099-R

I received my 1099-R - I am a retired police officer.  I started getting early S/S and was told that  I could make $17,???.00 before I would have to pay tax on any wages I received.  I did work part time and did make almost $5,000.00.  I received $20,???.00 from S/S but when I fill out all the info for my return, it is showing that $17,???. is taxable and the remainder is non taxable.  This is not suppose to be since my 1099-R is not considered income (according to S/S office) it is only for IRS taxes.  Have I missed a place in my filling out my return?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

1099-R

You have a slight mis-conception about what is involved there.

1)  If you start collecting SS early, before the full-retirement age for SS, then SS will reduce the next year's actual monthly payout of SS benefits, if your work salary (or self-employment profit)  exceeds ~$18.2k for 2020.  So, after you file your 2020 taxes, SS will see that you "earned" ~$5k from part-timework, and they won't change next year's monthly benefits ... because it was only 5k.    Your 1099-R doesn't affect that.

2)  How much of your yearly SS income is "taxable" is an entirely different situation.