turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Fedmom

Is there a TurboTax program error regarding the 1099R Summary regarding the insurance premiums for retired law enforcement?

In the Federal review I keep getting an error on Line 26d when conducting the final check/review before filing. The amount on that line keeps doubling to $6000. The amount should be $3000 which is what the error says. I am a retired safety officer. PossibleProgram problem? I have deleted and reentered the 1099R from OPM several times; however, the amount keeps defaulting to $6000. This I believe is overstating my taxable income by $3000. The program should autofill the box with the $3000. I thought I could just click on the summary sheet and correct it to 3000, but that does not seem possible. This shouldn't be this hard to fix! Can you help direct me??

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies

Is there a TurboTax program error regarding the 1099R Summary regarding the insurance premiums for retired law enforcement?

See if this helps.  Enter Form 1099-R exactly how it appears.  Answer Yes to the question, if you were Employed as a Public Safety Officer (law enforcement officer, firefighter, chaplain, or member of a rescue squad or ambulance crew). 

Answer Yes, if the Pension Administrator Paid for Health Insurance.

Enter the total amount paid for the Health Insurance Payment Amount.  If needed, TurboTax will reduce the deduction to the $3,000 allowed.  

If this doesn't work, try deleting Form 1099-R and starting over again.  See the TurboTax FAQ below for steps on how to delete a form.  Click "See entire answer" for the full page view.