Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Difference in IRA basis between federal and California

Where do I input the basis of my IRA for my California return. 

The federal basis and the CA basis are different amounts.

I've entered the federal basis but cannot find any place in the California section to either adjust the federal basis or to input the actual CA basis amount.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
DaveF1006
Expert Alumni

To clarify, what form and line number does your basis for your California return appear?

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Hi Dave, I'm new at TT, have used Lacerte for the last 30+ years, so I hope this response gets to you. Federal Form 8606, Part I, Line 2 shows your basis in federal traditional IRA's. Now while this amount is only important when you take an IRA distribution, you do need to keep track of the basis because it can increase every year if you make non-deductible contributions to your traditional IRA. Way back when, CA had a max IRA deduction allowed of $1,500 while the fed had a max IRA deduction of $2,000. So many Californians have basis in their IRA's. So when you take distributions you will have part of the distribution be non-taxable; but the fed and CA non-taxable portions will be different. CA does not have a form that mimics the federal F8606, Lacerte just uses F8606 in the CA return and the label at the top of the form says "California Form 8606". So I need to find a place to input what the CA basis in the IRA is so that this amount carries forward every year until distributions begin, or find a place to adjust the federa