Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

As a retired nurse, and my benefits include a Medicare Supplement given to me in the form of a 1099Misc. Would this be a Sch C or Sch E? Or another form of income?

As a retired nurse, my benefits include Medicare Supplement income in the form of a 1099Misc through my retirement company as a paying agent paying for my previous employer/hospital. Where would I declare this income? In a SchC (with what business code?), SchE, or another location?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
KathrynG3
Expert Alumni

As a retired nurse, and my benefits include a Medicare Supplement given to me in the form of a 1099Misc. Would this be a Sch C or Sch E? Or another form of income?

In neither location. You may report it instead simply as Other Income. It is important to report it directly on Schedule 1, Line 8 so that it is only taxed as income. 

To do this, follow these steps:

1. From the left menu, go to Federal and select the first tab, Wages & Income
  2. Add more income by scrolling down to the last option, Less Common Income, and Show more
  3. Scroll down to the last option, Miscellaneous Income, 1099-A, 1099-C and Start
  4. Choose the last option, Other reportable income and Start and Yes
  5. Enter the applicable description and amount and Continue.