turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Turbo Tax did not capture owner-occupied partial rental property's depreciation rom Sep 2013 to Dec 2015.

I have been using Turbo Tax since the early 1990s. Extremely disappointed with my current situation.

I live in my primary residence and did a partial rental of rooms from Sep 2013 to Dec 2015.

I was preparing my house for sale and discovered while computing a hypothetical of taxes, that Turbo Tax did not capture owner-occupied partial rental property's depreciation at all. 

I have tried to reach Turbo Tax in the past and despite getting an incident number have not got any call from Turbo Tax representatives. 

This is a shortfall in the software and I don't know what's the best way to proceed forward. I would definitely need an expert's assistance.  Any assistance is appreciated. I would like to get this resolved prior to next year's filings. Thank you.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Turbo Tax did not capture owner-occupied partial rental property's depreciation rom Sep 2013 to Dec 2015.

When you were completing the 2016 tax return with TurboTax, in the Rentals and Royalties section you had to tell the software that you were no longer using the rooms as a rental.  Since there was no asset to depreciate in 2016, the software did not prepare a depreciation report for 2016.  The same for tax year 2017 and 2018.