Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

TikTok and PayPal (Edit: I accidently posted this in the wrong forum, and I don't know how to delete).

(Edit: I know I put this in the wrong place, I don't know how to delete it. I'm sorry). Hi! I am a creator on TikTok and in 2024 have earned close to 930 dollars in revenue. This is my sole income as I am a dependent and student. The US only allows for PayPal to be the method of payout, meaning that the money I earn gets sent to PayPal - then I withdrawal it into my bank account from there. 

With the new IRS $600 PayPal law, I will receive a 1099 from PayPal as well as TikTok. PayPal takes a 1.5% fee for processing making my 1099 from PayPal slightly different than the one I will receive from TikTok. When I file next year, will I have to add both forms to my tax sheet even though the PayPal one is the only amount I have earned? What will I have to do?

I know this may seem self-explanatory; however, I am uneducated in taxes and want to be prepared. 

Thank you.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
JotikaT2
Employee Tax Expert

TikTok and PayPal (Edit: I accidently posted this in the wrong forum, and I don't know how to delete).

For 2024, you will receive a Form 1099-NEC for the gross amount paid to you by TikTok.  A 1099-NEC form is issued to those who are paid more than $600.  When you file your taxes for 2024 in early 2025, you will need to report the amount you earned as reported on your 1099-NEC.  Any processing fees paid to PayPal can be expensed as a deduction on your Schedule C as a reduction to the income reported on your 1099-NEC.