Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Attend our Ask the Experts event about Extension Filers on Sept 25! >> RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

Turbo tax does not allow negative numbers in 1099-B box 1d

unbelievable!   Thanks for letting me know.   I would have been mad if I found this out on my own

confirming that this is still an issue for 2020 tax year. I just got a ton of errors when trying to file my return.  It's especially troublesome in the web version of turbo tax because it takes time to load the PDF-ed 1099B  for EACH invalid entry. will definitely have to wait for the bug patch. this is my first year using turbo tax - did they resolve it last year within a reasonable time frame last year? were there proactive communications to the user base that it was fixed?

I believe they fixed this in about 2 weeks or so.   So they better jump on this and get it fixed quick

when they fixed this problem last year it was resolved under case  number (it wont let me post case #, it thinks it is a social security number)    If you want t follow up with them directly, fill out a request at  https://support.turbotax.intuit.com/contact/  This will eventually take you to a page with the phone number and a support ID.   

JohnB5677
Expert Alumni

To be able to post a negative value to form 1099-B box 1d follow these steps.

1. Select the option for a 1099-B
  2. Select to type it yourself
  3. Enter Bank
  4. I'll enter one sale at a time
  5. Enter the stock data and leave 10d BLANK
  6. When you hit Continue you will get a RED error message
  7. At the bottom of the screen select Allow me to continue with incomplete information. [Continue]