turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

noelkan
Returning Member

Passive activity loss from rental properties in AZ

I am a resident in CA and am filing nonresident in AZ for rental properties owned in AZ. On the AZ nonresident tax return in 2016 (being the first year filing in AZ), we had passive losses from these rental properties. So we did not pay any AZ taxes. Do these passive losses carryforward to 2017 tax return (similar to Federal/CA) except that it only bases on AZ sources?  Does the allowed and unallowed loss to each property in 2017 calculate similarly to the Federal/CA calculation?  There was not any passive loss carryforward schedule from my 2016 AZ nonresident return. Please advise.  Thanks.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
maglib
Level 11

AZ pretty much follows the fed when it comes to rental properties other than the depreciation.  They have passive activity loss limitations to extent of income.  Stick with basic depreciation and they will be similar. Issues exist if you have other properties though in other states as federal allows losses from one property to offset gains from another property while non-resident states only allow that states property.  TT should handle this situation for you.

You will also file a return if your income from rental exceeds the filing requirements. There is some bad information about the net meeting requirements, that is not so.  It is gross income threshold.

**I don't work for TT. Just trying to help. All the best.
***Say "Thanks" by marking as BEST ANSWER and clicking the thumb icon in a post and that I solved your question