turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

GaryinOz2002
Returning Member

Foreign Life Insurance Policy Disposition

Hi, I am a resident alien in U.S., born in Canada. I just (2022) cashed in two long-time Canadian life insurance policies, one a whole life policy bought by my father when I was a child (I am now 67 yo) and another a term policy I bought in the early 1980s.  For most of the years, I was able to use dividends spun off from the whole life policy to pay premiums for both policies, so I have not paid premiums for years. When I cashed in the two policies, I paid federal non-resident Canada tax (about $6800 CAN) and received, net, about $19K US.  Do I still pay U.S. taxes on this as Other Income or am I exempt?  I am guessing Canada has a treaty with US on taxes.  What IRS forms do I need to complete? Is there anyone I can consult for help on this?

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

16 Replies

@pk

GaryinOz2002
Returning Member

Hello, did someone (tagteam?) answer my question?  What is the answer?  I can't seem to read it or open a message/post.

Thanks!

G.

pk
Level 15
Level 15

@GaryinOz2002 , can you give me a day to chew on this ?  Generally, foreign life insurances  are treated as  non-regulated investment companies and therefore Mar-to-Market rules apply.  But  because Canada and US have a much closer relationship , I need to go over the treaty a bit more  ( including the technical  explanations).

Will circle back by 12/29

pk

GaryinOz2002
Returning Member