Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am an Oklahoma Resident. TurboTax is transferring all of my long-term capital gains to Form 561 which is for the sale of stock in an Oklahoma Corp. How do I fix this?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

21 Replies

I am an Oklahoma Resident. TurboTax is transferring all of my long-term capital gains to Form 561 which is for the sale of stock in an Oklahoma Corp. How do I fix this?

Did you get an answer to this?  I'm having the same problem

I am having exactly the same issue.  One of the experts replied that we need to go back to the interview of our state return and click the box that says, "does not qualify for exemption" -  but I did that and nothing worked.  I am still stuck and awaiting an answer.  I have already paid for the e-filing and cannot file because of this. 

It seems like a bug in the system that is not responding to any attempts to fix it. Like you, none of my capital gains are from Oklahoma corporations - so why did Turbo Tax population Form 561?

MarilynG1
Expert Alumni

@CallMe If your Capital Gains/Losses are not from Oklahoma corporations, they are not excluded on your Oklahoma resident return.

These are carried over from your Federal return and require no adjustment.

Capital Gains/Losses that are excluded from Oklahoma are:

1) Real or tangible personal property located within Oklahoma must be owned for at least five years prior to the date of sale.
 2) Stock or ownership in an Oklahoma company, or partnership, owned for at least two years prior to the date of sale.