turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Is foreign property rental income subject to New Jersey state tax?

I am a NJ resident and I have a rental property in Poland. I already reported the foreign rental income on my federal return (Schedule E) and claimed foreign tax credit (Form 1116) for the taxes paid to Poland's IRS.

When I am doing NJ state return, TurboTax does not make it clear whether I should also include this on my NJ state return or not. TT is asking this: "Is any of your rental income not subject to New Jersey tax? For example, it occurred during the period when you were not a resident of New Jersey and is not New Jersey source income."

So YES, it occurred during my residency in NJ, but NO, it's not a New Jersey source income.

So my question is: Do I also have to report this foreign rental income on my NJ state return?

It seems a little unfair to do it again, especially that NJ does not allow to take foreign tax credit: "No credit is permitted for taxes paid to the US Gov, Canada, Puerto Rico or any foreign country or territory".

On the other hand: "(...) if you are considered a New Jersey resident for tax purposes, you are subject to tax on income from all sources (worldwide income), regardless of where you are living".

Can someone give me a clear response whether or not NJ state taxes residents on foreign rental income?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
GeoffreyG

The correct answer to your question is what you express in the form of a quotation (presumably from the New Jersey Division of Taxation), near the end of your question.