turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

legodine

I am a university student and on my 1098-T form, my grants/scholarships exceeds my tuition expenses. My parents claimed me as a dependent so do I file that 1098-T form or does my parent?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Hal_Al
Level 15

I am a university student and on my 1098-T form, my grants/scholarships exceeds my tuition expenses. My parents claimed me as a dependent so do I file that 1098-T form or does my parent?

Simple answer: yes. Since your grants exceed your qualified expenses, you have taxable scholarship income.

Unfortunately, taxes aren’t simple.

First, if you have less than $12,000 of income**, including the taxable portion of the scholarship, you do not need to file a tax return, so none of it will actually be taxed. 

Books and other course materials, not shown in box 1 of the 1098-T will further reduce the taxable amount

Second, There is a tax “loophole” available. The student reports all his scholarship, up to the amount needed to claim the American opportunity credit, as income on his return. That way, the parents  (or himself, if he is not a dependent) can claim the tuition credit on their return. They can do this because that much tuition was no longer paid by "tax free" scholarship.  You cannot do this if the school’s billing statement specifically shows the scholarships being applied to tuition or if the conditions of the grant are that it be used to pay for qualified expenses.