Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Ask the Experts All About the Refund! >> Event happening NOW!!!!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Why do I not qualify for American opportunity tax credit if i am a full-time student. But I do qualify if I mark no to full time student?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Hal_Al
Level 15

Why do I not qualify for American opportunity tax credit if i am a full-time student. But I do qualify if I mark no to full time student?

I hadn't noticed that before; apparently you don't get the 2nd support question if you answer no to the first support question. That makes sense, if the answer to the first question is no; the answer to the 2nd question has to be no also. But you should have gotten a question about living parents.

From Pub 970:

A student does not qualify for the (up to) $1,000 refundable portion of the American Opportunity Credit (AOC) if items 1, 2, and 3 below apply to him. 
1. He was:
.....a. Under age 18 at the end of 2019, or 
......b. Age 18 at the end of 2019 and his earned income was less than one-half of his support, or 
......c. A full-time student over age 18 and under age 24 at the end of 2019 and his earned income was less than one-half of his support .
2. At least one of his parents was alive at the end of 2019 (the "orphan question")
3. He is not filing a joint return with his spouse for 2019.

So, yes a part time student can get the credit, if he doesn't qualify as a dependent, but a full time student can't, As stupid as that sounds, it's the law. TT is doing it correctly, when you indicate full time student, under 24, not supporting yourself: no refundable AOC