Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

What counts as four years of college credit?

I am now very confused.  There are web sites that say you can use AOTC for graduate school, provided you did not attend 4 years of post secondary education.  The wording, while you imply that it is no longer valid if you received your bachelors, does not explicitly state that.  So if I got my bachelors in 3 years, did not use the AOTC at all, I would think I can use the AOTC for my first year of grad school. If that is wrong, can someone point to either a case where the IRS refused the AOTC or it explicitly says you cannot use it if you received a specific degree?

AnnetteB6
Expert Alumni

As long as you have not finished your first four years of post-secondary education at the beginning of the tax year, then assuming all other qualifications are met, you are considered to be an eligible student who can claim the American Opportunity Tax Credit.

See the following IRS information to learn more:

American Opportunity Tax Credit

@whodiini 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
Hal_Al
Level 15

Grad school doesn't normally qualify,   Grad school in the fall does count if the student finished his undergrad degree in the spring, The technicality is that you had not completed the first four years of post-secondary education as of the beginning of the taxable year.

https://www.irs.gov/credits-deductions/individuals/education-credits-questions-and-answers  Scroll down to Q.9.