turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

What counts as four years of college credit?

I have an AA degree, but I have also attended a community  college for over 6 years (mostly taking electives and theater classes and not working towards a degree.) Does this count as 4 years of college credit?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

26 Replies
Fern

If you are working toward a four-year degree, you will meet the part of the definition of an eligible student defined as “has not completed the first four years of post-secondary education as of the beginning of the taxable year”.  The fact that you have taken more than 4 years working toward the degree is not what is being measured.  The fact that you have not completed it yet is what is being measured.

However, it is important to keep in mind that you can only take the American Opportunity Credit for 4 years.  If you have taken the credit 4 times, you are no longer eligible even if you have not earned a four year degree in that time.
naiad17

What if I had already completed a bachelor's degree and was working on a second one during the year I'm reporting on?

If I completed my bachelor's degree in 3 academic years (2013-16) could I have claimed the American Opportunity Credit for 2018 during my first year of grad school? I'm confused if I had completed four years of post secondary education or not as the definition is vague on the IRS site. The AOC was claimed for me in 2014, 2015, and 2016, so if I have one more year of eligibility I would like to amend my 2018 return to claim it as that would significantly increase my refund.

KrisD15
Expert Alumni