turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

hrosie616
Returning Member

Teacher took classes through Advancement Courses, does not provide 1098-T. Can I claim course costs? How?

Hi. I'm a full-time teacher that took 15 graduate credit hours of courses through Advancement Courses to move up the salary schedule. In my state Advancement Courses partnered with Greenville University, who then issued my transcript when I was finished.

1. Can I claim the cost on my taxes for the courses since I paid out of pocket?

2. If so, how? Does it fall under the $250 teacher expenses or does it qualify under expenses and scholarships? I am confused because my receipts from Advancement Courses say they do not provide a 1098-T form, but that I should keep my registration receipts for tax purposes.

At first, I went under expenses and scholarships and since I technically paid Advancement Courses and not Greenville University, I wasn't sure if I should continue. Since this is not a degree, I am just taking individual classes to further training, I didn't know what to select. Also, I don't know if I select half-time or less than half-time student. 

Thank you for any help. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
AlanT222
Expert Alumni

Teacher took classes through Advancement Courses, does not provide 1098-T. Can I claim course costs? How?

Yes, you can claim the expenses.  More than likely, you will qualify for the Life Time Learning Credit.  (Explained Later)

To Enter your Education Expenses with or without a Form 1098-T:

1. Select "Federal Taxes" at the top of the page
2. Select the "Deductions & Credits" sub-tab
3. Scroll down to "Education Expenses" and select "Show More"