Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How to report 1099-MISC received for research stipend ? (not self-employed)

Hi all,

I received 1099-MISC for my research stipend (not really a salary but a fellowship paid to do research full time in 2020). I was a postdoctoral researcher (not a student).

I've tried reporting it but Turbo Tax classifies me as self-employed, and I believe I am paying too much tax on this.

How do I report it in turbotax so it's considered an academic fellowship/stipend?

My 1099-MISC form has only Box 3: Other income

Any help would be much appreciated!

Thank you very much

Eridani

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
LenaH
Employee Tax Expert

Once you enter your 1099-MISC, it is important that you answer the questions that follow the entry screen for the 1099-MISC. If answered correctly, you will also be able to have this income flow to Other Income, rather than self-employment income. 

Please follow the instructions below:

1. Open or continue your return, if you're not already in it.
  2. Search for 1099-misc and select the Jump-to link.
  3. Click Edit next to your 1099-MISC.
  4. Continue past the information entered. 
  5. Describe the reason for this 1099-MISC.
  6. Answer None of these apply on the screen Does one of these uncommon situations apply?
  7. Answer No, it didn't involve work like my main job for the question Did this involve work that's like my main job?
  8. Answer You got it in 2020 for the question How often did you get this income?
  9. Answer No, it didn't involve an intent to earn money for the question Did this involve an intent to earn money?
  10. Answer the remaining on-screen questions.