turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

College and Grad School 1098-Ts

Hi, this one might be a difficult question to answer, but I don't know what to do and need help with my situation. So last year I was a college student for the first semester for which my parents completely supported me financially and paid for tuition and other expenses. I received a 1098-T for this with a tax-free scholarship included and had an on campus job where I made about $1200. With this I could be claimed as a dependent and my parents would get the tax deductions from paying for my education (Which is what we did last year). Then for the second semester I started Graduate School for my PhD where I get paid and received another 1098-T with a taxable scholarship as it is way higher than my educational expenses which completely supported me financially with no support from my parents. My parents want to claim me as their dependent and file my 1098-Ts however I am confused because if I sum them both up it would amount to more than the educational expenses and I think I have to pay taxes over them. My question is about who should file my 1098-Ts, whether or not I qualify as a dependent and if for example my parents could file one of my 1098-Ts and I could file the other so they get the tax break for supporting me for the first semester and I still pay the taxes over the other one. Thanks in advance if you could help me out with this.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
JotikaT2
Employee Tax Expert

It depends.

They can claim you as a dependent if:

• You are related to them
  • You aren't claimed by someone else
  • You're a US citizen, resident alien, national, or Canadian or Mexican resident