turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

If last year I was enrolled less than part time (only 1 class to complete) in college, is my mom still able to claim me as a dependent?

During last year I only took one college class, which is less than part time enrollment at my school. I was a full time student every year before and my mom has been able to claim me as a dependent and were unclear if she is able to this year or not. I am over 19 years of age. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
Phillip1

If last year I was enrolled less than part time (only 1 class to complete) in college, is my mom still able to claim me as a dependent?

Probably not. The requirements for claiming children between the ages of 19 and 24 who are students are quite a bit less restrictive than the rules for claiming adults who are not students.

If you were not a qualifying student, the following must apply:

• To be a student, they must be, during some part of each of any 5 calendar months of the year:

• A full-time student at a school that has a regular teaching staff, course of study, and a regularly enrolled student body at the school, or

• A student taking a full-time, on-farm training course given by a school described in (1), or by a state, county, or local government agency.

• The 5 calendar months don't have to be consecutive.

Since you were not a student, your mother would only be able to claim you as a dependent under the qualifying relative rules. Those rules are as follows:

1. You need to be related or a member of the household (living with her) for the entire year. As her son, you meet this requirement even if you did not live with her for the entire year.