Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

woodir

I graduated college in four years in August of 2023. I am a graduate student now. Why don't I qualify for the American Opportunity Credit?

I started graduate school in August of 2023 as well. I've only claimed the AOC once, and I didn't complete four years of college at the beginning of the tax year (January 1, 2023), so why don't I qualify?
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies

I graduated college in four years in August of 2023. I am a graduate student now. Why don't I qualify for the American Opportunity Credit?

The AOC is for students who have not earned a bachelor degree yet.  It can be used for up to four times during your undergraduate years, but now that you are a grad student, you cannot use it.   Instead you can try to use the Lifetime Learning Credit.  The LLC is non-refundable---it can reduce your tax owed, but is not added to your refund.

https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/3262983-who-is-eligible-to-take-the-american-opportunity-tax-credi...

https://ttlc.intuit.com/community/credits-and-deductions/help/what-expenses-qualify-for-the-lifetime...

https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/3262984-who-is-eligible-for-the-lifetime-learning-credit

**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**
Hal_Al
Level 15

Graduating college in 4 years usually means you were in college 5 calendar years. There is a 4 time limit on claiming the  American Opportunity Credit (AOTC). If you, or your parents, already claimed it in 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022, you can not claim it in 2023.