Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am an unemployed student. What form do I use to file my taxes? And can I use the hope credit and lifetime learning credit?

which credit should I use, the hope credit, the lifetime learning credit or the american opportunity credit?

I have no income, can i still use form 1040?

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Anita01

I am an unemployed student. What form do I use to file my taxes? And can I use the hope credit and lifetime learning credit?

If you have no income, and no tax due on that income, you cannot use the lifetime learning credit, nor the $1500 part of the AOC.  Those credits can only be used to reduce your taxable income to zero, and with no taxable income, they would not help you.  There is a portion of the AOC that can be paid to you in cash, whether you have taxable income or not, but only if you are at least a half-time student, and not a dependent of your parents.  If your parents can claim you as a dependent, you cannot claim this credit.

View solution in original post

3 Replies

With no income how are you paying your tuition? How old are you? Can your parents claim you as a dependent?
Anita01

If you have no income, and no tax due on that income, you cannot use the lifetime learning credit, nor the $1500 part of the AOC.  Those credits can only be used to reduce your taxable income to zero, and with no taxable income, they would not help you.  There is a portion of the AOC that can be paid to you in cash, whether you have taxable income or not, but only if you are at least a half-time student, and not a dependent of your parents.  If your parents can claim you as a dependent, you cannot claim this credit.