turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

lwilsey86

Full time student

I began a full-time graduate program in mid-August of 2016. Is this time-frame long enough for me to claim that I was a full-time student?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
MargaretL
Expert Alumni

Full time student

You have two questions in one: the first one is the full-time student status, the second one is the mid-August time frame. 

To answer your first question - Yes, you are considered to be full-time if the school's form 1098-T has the box checked that you were "at least half-time" student. If you don't have the form, ask the school if they consider you a full-time student, when you start doesn't matter; your course load does. 

Your second question - the IRS says that you must be a full-time student for any part of 5 months" during the tax year so your time frame does qualify an education credit. 

View solution in original post

1 Reply
MargaretL
Expert Alumni

Full time student

You have two questions in one: the first one is the full-time student status, the second one is the mid-August time frame. 

To answer your first question - Yes, you are considered to be full-time if the school's form 1098-T has the box checked that you were "at least half-time" student. If you don't have the form, ask the school if they consider you a full-time student, when you start doesn't matter; your course load does. 

Your second question - the IRS says that you must be a full-time student for any part of 5 months" during the tax year so your time frame does qualify an education credit. 

message box icon

Get more help

Ask questions and learn more about your taxes and finances.