turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Box 1 and 2 empty on 1098-t

I did post a question like this a few days ago but I worded it incredibly weird so, this is more clear.

Both boxes are empty despite knowing I paid tuition.

For more info, I know for a fact my cost of tuition costs $1,634.70 for the 2019 Spring semester. I got the pell grant that covered only $1,312 so I paid the remaining $322 balance. I don't know if this also matters but I graduated last in 2019 as well. So, did my college do this wrong? I know when I look at my bursar account it says that the statement date hit on 12/31/2018, but everything else says 2019. I'm confused and frustrated because I'd rather not be taxed.

Also, if it is right and I am allowed to do so, do I add the $1,634.70 amount in the option below box 1 titled"This is not what 'StudentNamel,' paid to this school?" I plan on contacting financial aid tomorrow
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies
samiewolf
Returning Member

I have the same issue, can we get a response?

I'm now on the phone with my school's financial aid. Hopefully, I can get this squared away. Have you contacted your school yet?

samiewolf
Returning Member

Not yet, but I will here soon.

I just got off the phone with them, and they receive their 1098-t from the IRS, so it right is given that my charges hit in 2018, but my pell grant hit in 2019, which is ridiculous because I paid my tuition. So, now I'm waiting to see if I am legally allowed to report that tuition amount under the Student name option under box 1.

samiewolf
Returning Member