turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

American Opportunity Tax Credit for International Students?

Hello everyone, 

I am an international student in the US since 2017. But I got some on-campus jobs in 2018 and 2019. I used TurboTax to file my taxes. Everything went perfectly fine and there was no error appeared. However, I recently found out that I accidentally received American Opportunity Tax Credits for these two years. I didn't notice that AOPC is only for U.S citizens and permanent residents. TurboTax did not warn me anything so I didn't know that issue. So, what should I do now? Should I use a different platform like Sprintax to file the tax if I work in 2021? Also, do I need to return the AOTC, and how? Will this issue affect me in the future if I begin my H1B/green card sponsorship? Please help. Thank you so much!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply

American Opportunity Tax Credit for International Students?

Most international students on F type visas are considered non-resident aliens even though they live in the US.

https://www.irs.gov/individuals/international-taxpayers/exempt-individual-who-is-a-student

Non-resident aliens are not allowed to claim certain tax benefits.  They must also file a form 1040-NR instead of a regular form 1040.  Turbotax does not support 1040-NR.  Turbotax partners with Sprintax to offer form 1040-NR for non-resident aliens, or you may use a different provider.