turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

alc8486

Can I carry forward the Passive Activity Loss instead of allow it? i.e. line 26 of Schedule E should be 0 instead of -21,600.

I want to carry forward the Passive Activity Loss until I sell this rental apartment. I've been carrying this forward over since 2013, never had problems w/ this until now, but my 2016 return was done by an accountant, and I don't know how TT is getting the numbers from 2016. I already entered the PAL in TT for 2016 through their question wizard, but this did not change anything, only the actual number that was allowed.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Can I carry forward the Passive Activity Loss instead of allow it? i.e. line 26 of Schedule E should be 0 instead of -21,600.

Rick19744 superuser comment above is correct, you cannot pick and chose when to take the PAL.

Your income must have gone down in the current tax year/ or you started materially participating in the rental activity. 

"When your income is below $100,000 (MFS) ($150,000 for MFJ), you can take up to $25,000 of passive losses."  

Source:  https://www.therealestatecpa.com/2017/02/19/strategies-suspended-passive-losses-rental-real-estate/

Phaseout rule.