turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Blackwster00
Returning Member

Sub contractor or LLC ?

Hi there

I'm a 1099 company professional Class A driver, every year I file schedule C (expenses & meal ) deductible, I start new job as class A driver and my employer asking me to start LLC with no responsibility,  I'll driver their truck, maintenance,  fuel they will pay. I did not understand why they asking for LLC ?

Thanks in advance.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies

Sub contractor or LLC ?

An LLC limits your liability to your business and protects your personal assets. You could ask the business that you work for what the advantage is to them. 

Sub contractor or LLC ?

As a single member LLC you are taxed as a sole prop on a Sch C so for you nothing will change if you get an EIN for an LLC ... as to why they require it ... probably so that they can avoid the IRS employee rules and thus avoid paying you as an employee... this is an end run around the rules :  https://www.irs.gov/taxtopics/tc762

Since they will have you drive their truck and they will pay for all the truck expenses you are technically an employee and should be paid as such.  They should be paying 1/2 the SE taxes, pay workman's comp, a per diem  and provide  you with health insurance.   

Blackwster00
Returning Member

Sub contractor or LLC ?

On 1099 their no benefit no overtime, no health nothing, just flat hourly rate. My employer said I'll safe on taxes, I don't understand how ? Without the necessary over the road expenses.

Not clear answer from them , looks like they are hiding something.

Sub contractor or LLC ?