turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Independent Consultant and received a 1099-NEC....sooooooo confused!

I am an independent consultant and received a 1099-NEC

I do my taxes every year with turbotax.  I entered in my 1099-NEC.  Then it asked if I had any business expenses.  If I click yes, then it makes me fill out a Schedule C.  When I get there I am so confused on what to fill out.  What the business name is (do I use the Name of the business I'm a consultant for?) and the address (who's address do I use?).  I don't keep any supplies at my house to sell.  

As an independent consultant I just have people buy off the website and the company ships to them directly.

HELP me out!  I'm already freaking out!

if I don't claim expenses then I don't have to fill out the schedule C (but also don't get money back...which at this point I'm okay with)

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
KrisD15
Expert Alumni

Actually, the IRS wants you to claim the expenses as well as the income. 

Part of the reason for this is that your income may be eligible for the QBI (Qualified Business Income) deduction where 20% is tax free. 

Since you get paid as an independent contractor, you should keep records just like any other business. If the IRS audits you, they will expect you to have them. Just keep a log and save it with your tax file. 

For Schedule C you can use your name and social security number as the business name and EIN number if you don't have something else set up. Don't use the name of the company that paid you since you are not their employee. You can use your home address if that is the place you work out of. 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post