turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Receipts for business expenses under $75.

I worked as a freelance contractor for 7 months in 2013. I am comparing the receipts that I saved and my credit/debit card statements and I realize that I didn't save receipts for many business expenses. It was my first time freelancing and I didn't exactly know the rules of the game.

Many of the expenses are for $10-$50. I've read on the IRS website that if you have adequate evidence, you don't necessarily need a receipt for expenses that are less than $75 (entertainment, office supplies, etc). (http://www.irs.gov/publications/p463/ch05.html) Is this true and if so, we evidence should I be accounting for. Specifically for business meals, will a bank statement and record of who was there, the business discusses, and other details be enough to prove the business expense?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

18 Replies
CHines

Hello lorey.campese,

The IRS is what you need to go off of. If you have an expense under $75 (other than lodging) then documentary evidence is not needed. You can use your bank statement as long as it has the supporting documents to show the amount paid and the amount is for your busines.

This is INCORRECT. DO YOUR RESEARCH. Section 463 is for TRAVEL only! If you have items under $75, for example Staples purchase for print cartridges, YOU MUST HAVE THE RECEIPT!! The above "Expert" is WRONG to a large degree. I saw this coming up as a top search answer and it is wrong.
phil1