turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Charter Boat Business - Fear of being labeled by IRS as Hobby

I am an engineer by day, and run a one-boat charter business (LLC) on the evenings and weekends in the summer.  This is my third year in business and I do all of the work myself (No employees).  I did not make a profit my first two years.  The reason for not making a profit is primarily depreciation of the boat, when added to other expenses.  I make between 15-20k per year doing charters, however the depreciation on the boat for the first three years is 7k, 12k, and 8k respectively.  I am on track to make a profit this year (third year) weather pending.  My question is, if for some reason I do not make a profit this year or next, am I at risk of being labeled as a hobby by the IRS, where expenses would no longer be deductible?  I am making a profit, but depreciation could show a loss on paper. 

Note: In order to run this business I had to go to school to get my captains licensee; federal, state, and local permits are required each year;  safety gear has to be kept current; and I keep separate business bank accounts.        

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

Your scenario involves a facts and circumstances test and the relevant factors are laid out in Treas. Reg. §1.183-2 (link below).

https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=2c8c515e70d79f99314ab3dd0c63c6f4&mc=true&node=se26.4.1_118...

Per Code Section 183(d), taxpayers are allowed a safe harbor whereby it is presumed the activity is engaged in for profit if in 3 of 5 consecutive years the activity is profitable.

See https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-utl/irc183activitiesnotengagedinforprofit.pdf

Carl
Level 15