Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

lazercal

what if my employer sent a direct deposit in 2023 and my bank received it in 2024 .

I am an independent contractor - my employer sent a direct deposit on December 29, 2023.  I have not yet received it.  Will the employer put the money on my 2023 1099 since it left its account in 2023 or does it go to 2024 since the money is not in my control until 2024?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

11 Replies
rjs
Level 15
Level 15

what if my employer sent a direct deposit in 2023 and my bank received it in 2024 .

If you are an independent contractor you are not an employee. The company that is paying you is your client, not your employer. You would have to ask them which year they are going to report the payment in. (It will probably be 2023, but ask.) On your 2023 tax return, report whatever amount they put on your 1099 for 2023.

If your client issued the payment in 2023, they may consider it a 2023 expense and put it on your 2023 form 1099-NEC.  However, if you don't receive the payment until 2024, you would (generally) consider it as 2024 income.

The easiest thing to do is report whatever the 1099 says.  Assuming your income is more or less similar year over year, this won't change your tax significantly in 2023 or 2024.  However, you would be permitted to ignore that income for 2023 (even though you get a 1099) and instead report the income in 2024 (even though it won't be on a 1099 for 2024).  If you want to do that, and aren't sure how to make the adjustment, write back here after you get the 1099 and are preparing your return.  

ThomasM125
Expert Alumni