turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

jeffyf
Returning Member

Tax returned got rejected with Code IND 517-01 - my child didn't submit tax return, could it be a system glitch?

I have been using TurboTax to e-file my tax for several years just fine. It was the first time to have the tax return rejected with this code.

My child didn't submit any tax return and I am surprised to see the rejection. Could it be a glitch of the system or could it be a tax fraud? Should I contact IRS directly or should I just submit the tax return by mail?

Any advise!

Thx!

Jeff

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

Tax returned got rejected with Code IND 517-01 - my child didn't submit tax return, could it be a system glitch?

Rejection Code IND-517-01 indicates that the first Dependent listed on your Form 1040 has already filed a Tax Return and claimed themself.  

I recommend that you double check the return to see if your Dependent made a mistake on their return and didn't indicate that they were being claimed as a Dependent.  If they did, they will need to Amend their Tax Return.  If using TurboTax, as you walk through the TurboTax interview process you will need to answer "YES" to the question "Someone else can claim me as a Dependent" and "YES" to "and this person will claim me on their 2018 Tax Return".  You can click here for instructions on Amending your tax return: How to Change a Tax Return You Already Filed.  

If after checking your Dependent's return they did correctly indicate that they are claimed as a Dependent, then your only option is to mail in your Tax Return.

If your dependent did not file a return then your ONLY option is to print and mail in the return.  

Anonymous