turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Amendment to change dependent? How to file and will it affect stimulus?

A different filing service filed me as "dependent" because I am a college student.

• I have provided 100% of my own support.
  • I live alone.
  • 21 years old. Full time job. Student.
  • Verified I was not claimed by either parent.

Block is saying well, because I'm a student and a full time worker I don't qualify. I am the only one supporting myself.

On Turbotax, the e-file questionnaire shows I am not a dependent.

How do I fix this? Will I still receive a stimulus check from the IRS if I file an amendment? Should I file through the original filing or use an amendment from TurboTax?

Thank you. Please, please help me.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
KathrynG3
Expert Alumni

It depends. Please check your Form 1040 on line 9. If it is any number other than $12,200, then you were filed as a dependent. For the stimulus payment, if the person was claimed or could be claimed as a dependent, they are not eligible.

Confirm with 2019 Publication 501 Dependents, Standard Deduction, and Filing Information  on page 4 and page 11 to determine if you are or are not qualified to be a dependent.

If you need to file an amended return, yes, TurboTax can help. Depending on your income level, you may be able to file for free. Check out this article: What's the difference between IRS Free File Program and Free Edition? to see if you qualify for the Free File program. 

Otherwise, click the link to go to the TurboTax website. Click sign in to create your account.