turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

kdnkids

How can I amend a return done on a 1040EZ form to using a 1040 form? I am a college student and need to fill out box 6a which is not on the EZ form.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

How can I amend a return done on a 1040EZ form to using a 1040 form? I am a college student and need to fill out box 6a which is not on the EZ form.

No matter what form you file, they all have the check box for your own exemption.

the Form 1040X works, regardless of which variation of 1040 you used.

When sending Form 1040X, do not include your old 1040 (1040A) nor your revised 1040 (1040A) because the Form 1040X reflects any changes there and becomes your new tax return.

View solution in original post

4 Replies

No matter what form you file, they all have the check box for your own exemption.

the Form 1040X works, regardless of which variation of 1040 you used.

When sending Form 1040X, do not include your old 1040 (1040A) nor your revised 1040 (1040A) because the Form 1040X reflects any changes there and becomes your new tax return.

kdnkids

this answer did not help.  My federal form keeps getting rejected.
AmyW

If your tax return was rejected, there is no need to complete an amended tax return. Go back into your personal info section and click Someone can claim me as a dependent and re-file.
AmyW

First, be sure your parents are allowed to claim you.  The fact that you lived in their home is not necessarily enough for them to claim you as a dependent.  
  • In order to be their qualifying child, you must be unmarried and a US citizen, and meet the following requirements: